Homemade Hump Day: Slow Cooker Pot Roast

16 Jun

Slow cooker pot roast

This past Sunday was Father’s Day so, since The Hubs is pretty good at fathering, I figured I’d make him something special. Special and easy because I was, as I tend to be these days (along with everyone else in the world that has kids), exhausted. I did manage to bring myself to actually go grocery shopping and buy food for the entire week so I’m chalking the entire day up to a success.

I wanted to do something manly with it being Daddy Day and all so I wanted to make some kind of impressive meat dish. What’s an impressive meat dish, you say? Something along the lines of what I imagine a lumberjack would eat.

Slow cooker pot roast

I made a pot roast. With mashed potatoes. Manly.

Manly and delicious! I used a super easy slow-cooker recipe from Martha. And it even appeared as though I had the entire thing planned in advance because I popped the meat in the slow-cooker around lunchtime so it would have time to cook for 6 hours. Points for me for being prepared for Daddy Day (even if that preparation happened at 10am that morning)!

Slow cooker pot roast

This is definitely a recipe I would make again (and again and again!)! The prep took all of 15 minutes and it tasted amazing. The carrots were so velvety I might have eaten them all. And I don’t even like carrots!

I also made strawberry cupcakes….this had nothing to do with an  impressive manly meal and everything to do with my love of strawberries and cupcakes. I won’t say these were an epic fail because they tasted fantastical — they were moist (The Hubs and I  laughed about that word for way too long yesterday…I’m giggling just writing it…) and had just the right amount of sweetness and strawberry flavor.

Strawberry cupcakes

More on the cupcakes later. For now, here’s the Slow-Cooker Pot Roast recipe:

Slow-Cooker Pot Roast

Slow-Cooker Pot Roast

1 tablespoon cornstarch
8 medium carrots, cut into thirds
2 medium onions, each cut into 8 wedges
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 beef chuck roast (3 pounds), trimmed of excess fat
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

In slow cooker, stir together cornstarch and 2 tablespoons cold water until smooth. Add carrots and onions; season with salt and pepper, and toss.

Sprinkle roast with 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper; place on top of vegetables, and drizzle with Worcestershire. Cover; cook on high, 6 hours (or on low, 10 hours).

Transfer roast to a cutting board; thinly slice against the grain. Place vegetables in a serving dish; pour pan juices through a fine-mesh sieve, if desired. Serve roast with vegetables and pan juices.

Variations

Oven method: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In step 1, use a 5-quart Dutch oven or ovenproof pot with a tight-fitting lid; add 2 cups water. Cover; bake until roast is tender, 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Proceed with step 3.

One Response to “Homemade Hump Day: Slow Cooker Pot Roast”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Hump Day: Strawberry Cupcakes | For Real in Real Life - June 26, 2013

    […] was feeling a little ambitious that day since the pot roast I was making for the Hubs’ manly Father’s Day dinner smelled delicious so I figured I […]

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Snoozing on the Sofa

Fatherhood's Finest Hour

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Rachel Held Evans - blog

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

http://faithfulbloggers.com/

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

SeedTime

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

