Homemade Hump Day: Strawberry Cupcakes

26 Jun

Strawberry cupcakes

I love strawberries. I love cake. Me and strawberry cupcakes are a match made in heaven.

I bake things. But I am not a baker. I had about 21 cupcakes to prove it…key word there: had. We still ate them even though they looked like they were only half baked. Despite how they looked, most of them were fully baked and they were quite tasty. There are a few stragglers still sitting in the fridge but, alas, their time has come to meet that great big, brown bin on the curb. Those were the ones that didn’t manage to get baked all the way through. That may or may not have been related to the fact that on one batch, I just stuck the cupcake liners in a normal baking dish and crossed my fingers that the batter wouldn’t just spill out. It didn’t. But those cupcakes didn’t bake properly either…

I was feeling a little ambitious that day since the pot roast I was making for the Hubs’ manly Father’s Day dinner smelled delicious so I figured I could do anything in my kitchen. Naturally, I also made frosting to go with the cupcakes…

Apparently, frosting is literally just butter and sugar (maybe a dash of vanilla for good measure). This may have been common knowledge but I must have missed that memo. I figured there were copious amounts of sugar but I also thought that there were other frosting-y ingredients. In hindsight, that was not smart. Maybe I just needed a different recipe, but I was not the biggest fan of the frosting. It was waaaay too sweet. But it did provide a nice canvas for Big A’s decorations.

Homemade Strawberry cupcakes

Yes, those are Easter decorations…

Despite the fact that my baking skills are more along the lines of Baking For Dummies than Martha Stewart, I think the recipe was great. I even learned a couple lessons:

  1. Don’t fill up the cupcake liner! I definitely had heard that before but clearly I thought that filling it up was the best way to go anyway. Wrong.
  2. Let the cupcakes bake for the right amount of time…I may have been a little impatient…

I will definitely be trying this recipe (courtesy of Creative Crumbs whose cupcakes look way better than mine…) again:

Strawberry Cupcakes

Approx. 8 oz strawberries, either fresh or frozen
1/4 cup milk, at room temperature
4 eggs, at room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cup cake flour
1 3/4 cup sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

12 Tbsp unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), at room temp

Place strawberries in a food processor or blender and process until completely smooth.  Measure ¾ cups of strawberry puree and return to the blender.  Discard extra or use for another recipe.  (I recommend pouring it over vanilla ice cream…yum!)

Add egg, vanilla, and milk to the blender and mix on medium speed until smooth and creamy.  Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine cake flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt and mix to combine. Continue beating at slow speed and add butter. Mix until combined and resembling moist crumbs.

Add strawberry mixture and beat at medium speed for about 1 minute. Stop mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl, mix for 30 seconds more.

Note: The batter will not get any pinker in the oven so if you prefer a deeper color, add a drop or two of pink or red food coloring.

Divide the batter evenly among the pans or cupcake tins.

Bake for about 25 minutes for layer cakes or 18 minutes for cupcakes. Let cakes rest in pan for about 10 minutes and turn out onto wire racks. Let cakes cool completely before frosting.

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Snoozing on the Sofa

Fatherhood's Finest Hour

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Rachel Held Evans - blog

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

http://faithfulbloggers.com/

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

SeedTime

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

