Homemade Hump Day: Farmer’s Market Edition

3 Jul

farmersmarket2

There is something about summer that just demands fresh food. Maybe it’s because it’s so effing hot — we have officially reached the triple digits here in Austin — that I need to conserve energy…in my digestive tract… Maybe it’s because summer and nature just seem to go hand in hand. Who knows but the desire for something super fresh hit this weekend. So on Sunday, I packed up the kids and copious amounts of water and hit the farmer’s market.

To keep Big A’s amusement up, I decided we’d make an adventure out of it and go to one we hadn’t been to yet. Since we waited until after church and we can never seem to make it to church for any service before 11am, we were limited on where we could go — most of the farmer’s markets I’m aware of around here (that I’m aware of or able to find on the interwebs) seem to close by early afternoon. Thankfully, the Mueller Farmer’s Market was open until 2 so we had just enough time to get over there and pick out what we wanted before it closed. I had absolutely no plan of what I was going to make. I was just winging it. It was an adventure after all. Too much planning would have been a downer.

Here’s what we ended up with:

DSC_0987

9-grain whole wheat Bread from Sweetish Hill Bakery
Peaches from a farm in Mexia, Texas
Blackberries also from a farm in Mexia
Cucumbers. The quintessential summer veggie
Chocolate cherry tomatoes. Yes, that says chocolate.
Fresh Basil

After collecting those goodies (along with some lemonade and a cookie just for good measure), we hit up the playground for a few minutes and headed home to figure out what we were going to make with our loot. I knew immediately that I wanted to turn those peaches and blackberries into a dessert but the fam insists on eating dinner so I had to get that situated first.

Since dessert for dinner wasn’t going to cut it, I figured I would settle for something with the chocolate cherry tomatoes. Now, I had no idea what to expect with those. It was the name that sold them. They were delicious raw. Sweet, a little tart, tomato-y, perfect topping to a summer salad. I decided I’d roast them in oven with a little garlic then use them to make a cucumber salad.

Roasting tomatoes is incredibly easy and totally worth occupying your oven for 2-3 hours. Here’s how I did it:

Roasted Chocolate Cherry Tomatoes

Roasted Chocolate Cherry Tomatoes

Chocolate cherry tomatoes, cut in half
Garlic (whole, unpeeled)
Olive Oil

Preheat oven to 225 degrees. Place halved tomatoes and garlic on a cookie sheet and drizzle lightly with oil. Bake for 3 hours or until shriveled and dry. Cool and store covered in oil.

DSC_1011

Roasted tomatoes are great for dressing up all kinds of dishes — pasta, salad, bread, omelettes. I could go on but I don’t want to sound like Forrest Gump…this time I threw them in a cucumber salad with some Italian seasoning and some olive oil. Served it with Swiss Chicken (recipe coming up soon!) and corn on the cob. DELISH.

Cucumber salad with roasted chocolate cherry tomatoesSwiss ChickenRoasted Corn

2 Responses to “Homemade Hump Day: Farmer’s Market Edition”

  1. AWTWD (@AWTWD) October 6, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I absolutely love trips to the Farmer’s Market. Fresh food, Cool Saturday mornings, and Great family memories. Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Hump Day: Farmer’s Market Edition Part 2 | For Real in Real Life - July 10, 2013

    […] week I showed you the haul I got at the Mueller Farmer’s Market and the yummy Cucumber Salad with Roasted Chocolate Cherry Tomatoes I made with it. BTW, I made a pasta dish the next night and was kicking myself for not throwing in […]

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Snoozing on the Sofa

Fatherhood's Finest Hour

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Rachel Held Evans - blog

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

http://faithfulbloggers.com/

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

SeedTime

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

