Homemade Hump Day: Farmer’s Market Edition Part 2

10 Jul

farmersmarket2

Last week I showed you the haul I got at the Mueller Farmer’s Market and the yummy Cucumber Salad with Roasted Chocolate Cherry Tomatoes I made with it. BTW, I made a pasta dish the next night and was kicking myself for not throwing in some of those tomatoes. So next time it’s pasta night, those will be the first thing I put in it.

After making the salad, I still had the blackberries and peaches. I love this time of year in Texas because I know I’m never more than 10 minutes from a stand on the side of the road selling Texas peaches. So. Good!…Anyway…that fruit had dessert written all over it.

It had Blackberry-Peach Crisp written all over it to be exact.

So I helped that fruit fulfill its fruity destiny and made it into a Blackberry-Peach Crisp.

I used this Betty Crocker recipe and it turned out really well. This was the first time I’ve used wheat flour so I was a little skeptical about how the crust would come out but it SO. GOOD. Poss the best crust I’ve had on a crisp.

Blackberry-Peach Crisp

Blackberry-Peach Crisp
2 cups blackberries
1 tablespoon cornstarch
3 cups sliced peaches or nectarines (3 medium)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup Gold Medal® whole wheat flour
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Heat oven to 375º. Place blackberries in large bowl. Sprinkle with cornstarch; toss until blackberries are coated. Carefully stir in peaches.

Place fruit in ungreased square baking dish, 8x8x2 inches. Mix remaining ingredients until crumbly; sprinkle over fruit.

Bake about 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown and fruit is tender.

One Response to “Homemade Hump Day: Farmer’s Market Edition Part 2”

  1. http://play2learnwithsarah.com July 14, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

    I live in the Austin area too, but haven’t made it to the Mueller FM yet…I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Snoozing on the Sofa

Fatherhood's Finest Hour

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Rachel Held Evans - blog

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

http://faithfulbloggers.com/

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

SeedTime

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

Real Food. Real Family. Real Faith.

